Copa America 2021 Champions
Copa America 2021 Champions -Argentina

Argentina wins the Copa América title

  • Post author:
  • Reading time:2 mins read

Argentina wins the Copa América final. Ángel Di María scored the decisive goal in the 22nd minute of the first half at the Maracana Stadium to beat host Brazil and win the title.

Argentina won the Copa América 28 years later, most recently in 1993 they’ve won the title. Since then, Argentina has been without a title in international football.

It is also the first major title won by captain Lionel Messi from the country.

Under Messi’s captaincy, Argentina traveled to the finals of the 2014 World Cup, 2015, and 2016 Copa América but failed to win the title. Messi, who previously won gold at the Olympics, is not considered a major figure in international football.