You are currently viewing CSK became the IPL winner for the fourth time

CSK became the IPL winner for the fourth time

  • Post author:
  • Reading time:1 mins read

IPL 2021 Final: Chennai Super Kings become IPL champions for the fourth time, beating KKR by 27 runs in this season’s final in Dubai.

The in-form Faf du Plessis hit a magnificent 86 off 59 balls, laced with seven fours and three sixes, to help CSK set a target of 192 for 3 after they were invited to bat.

Chasing an imposing target of 193, KKR could manage only 165 for 9 in their 20 overs with Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer hitting 51 and 50 respectively.

From 91 for no loss in the 11th over, KKR slumped to 125 for 8 in the 17th over in a dramatic batting collapse to lose the final.

For CSK, Shardul Thakur took three wickets while Ravindra Jadeja and Josh Hazlewood got two wickets each.