Saturday, October 1, 2022

Parliamentary party’s decision to suspend seven Oli faction MPs in Sudurpaschim

Dhangadhi: CPN-UML’s Far Western Provincial Parliamentary Party has suspended 7 state assembly members. A meeting of the parliamentary parties on Monday suspended 7 members of KP Sharma Oli’s faction for violating the whip.

The parliamentary party, which has a majority in the Madhav Kumar Nepal faction, had issued a whip to Chief Minister Trilochan Bhatt for a vote of confidence. But after Oli’s MPs Liladhar Bhatt, Nepalu Chaudhary, Ratan Thapa, Pathan Singh Bohara, Gyalbu Bohara, Maya Tamang, and Baldev Regmi voted in the opposition, party leader Prakash Bahadur Shah asked for an explanation. Similarly, they had voted against the policy and program of the Far-Western Provincial Government against the whip of the parliamentary party.

A meeting of the party on Monday decided to suspend some of them for seven days and some for 10 days, said Chief Whip Durga BK.

Members of the Oli faction’s state assembly were also present at the meeting. Liladhar Bhatta, a state assembly member from Oli’s party, said that the suspension was wrong as the parliamentary party’s constitution was not approved by the central committee.

Breaking News